Abuja –  Most polling stations across Sokoto State opened for accreditation at 8 a.m. ahead of the Presidential and National Assembly elections,  the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports.
When NAN correspondents visited the stations in parts of Sokoto North, Sokoto South, Wamakko, Tambuwal, Isa and Sabo Birni Local Government Areas, voters queued for accreditation.
The Resident Electoral Commissioner in the state, Alhaji Abubakar Sadique, said that no fewer than 20, 000 ad-hoc staff were involved in the conduct of the elections in the state.
Sadique said that most of the ad hoc electoral officers were drawn from National Youths Service Corps (NYSC) and Usman Danfodio University, Sokoto.
NAN recalls that the state governor, Alhaji Aliyu Wamakko, had in a special broadcast on Friday, appealed to the people to conduct themselves peacefully while exercising their franchise.
He assured that necessary security arrangements had been made to protect lives and property before, during and after the elections.
In parts of Taraba, accreditation also started as early as 8 a.m. although there were some challenges from the card reader.
Women in Purdah were among the large number of people that turned for accreditation.
In Kebbi State, enthusiastic voters arrived at the various polling units as early as 7.30 a.m.
In Zuru, Kalgo, Bunza, and Birnin Kebbi Local Government Areas, It was observed impressive turnout of the voters.
In Katsina, the presidential candidate of All Progressives Congress (APC), Gen. Muhammadu Buhari, was accredited at Kofar Baru III polling unit, Sarkin Yara Ward, Daura, at 8.42 a.m.
In Lokoja, accreditation started at Alheri, Karaworo, and Kabawa polling units shortly after 8 a.m.
NAN reports that security was tight in all the polling units visited in the city.
NAN also observed that agents of various political parties witnessed the accreditation, which was orderly and peacefully.
In Plateau, there was large turnout of voters in Jos though accreditation did not commence until 9.30 a.m. due to late arrival of INEC officials at the polling stations.
The polling stations affected by the delay were those located at Kufang, Dadin-Kowa, Kanga and University of Jos.
INEC Public Relations Officer in the state, Mr Osaretin Ihuregbubge, said that every polling unit had been catered for and pleaded for patience from voters.

Related News