ABUJA – For the first time in the history of Nigeria’s democratic governance, the current leading opposition, All Progressives Congress (APC) Presidential candidate, General Muhammadu Buhari (rtd) has won the 2015 Presidential election conducted last Saturday.
Buhari, a former Military Head of State defeated his main rival and the incumbent President Goodluck Jonathan as the States’ result collation just ended at the International Conference centre, FCT Abuja, the exercise which put him ahead of President Jonathan with over 3 Million vote’s difference.
General Buhari and his party, APC won in 21 States, mostly in the entire Northern and South Western regions, while the ruling PDP recorded victory in 15 States, within South East and South South geo political zones, including a slight winning in the Federal capital territory, Abuja.
The opposition’s candidate polled a total of 14,915,378 as against the ruling party, that recorded a total of 12, 827,522.
The entire result sprang a historic surprise, as the ruling party lost its traditional strongholds, which included: Kogi, Kwara, Jigawa, Kaduna (home state of Jontahan’s VP, Namadi Sambo), Kebbi and Benue, the home State of the current Senate President, David Mark.
Similarly, pundits expressed shock with the Lagos State result, as the margin of winning was very close.
Lagos State is the home of the APC National Leader and former Governor, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu.
The outcome was linked to the voting with tribal and religion influence on the South Easterners and South Southerners (residents) in the State.The Rivers State result, despite the controversies and protest as well as disjointed figures presented by the State’s Collation officer, Professor Etu Efeotor was admitted and added to the remaining results.
The final and formal declaration of the winner is expected to be made by the INEC boss, Professor Attahiru Jega after the last states Borno, North east, Nigeria is announced.
Borno is the stronghold of General Buhari and he is projected to win the state in the final results expected shortly.
President Jonathan, it was gathered has conceded defeat and congratulated the winner, General Buhari.

Related News