The Edo State Governor, Godwin Obaseki, has congratulated Dr. Nosa Omorodion, an indigene of Benin, for bagging two prestigious awards, namely; 2023 AAPG Michael T. Halbouty Outstanding Leadership Award and AAPG Honorary Member Award.

Omorodion is the Executive Director of SLB Nigeria and Director for NOC and Independents in West Africa. He also sits on the board of the SLB companies in Nigeria and Equatorial Guinea, as well as on the board of Schlumberger Separation Indemnity Fund.

In a congratulatory message to the recipient, whom the governor described as his friend and brother, Governor Obaseki noted: “It is with great pleasure that I congratulate my friend and brother, Dr. Nosa Omorodion (FNAPE), as he receives the 2023 AAPG Michael T. Halbouty Outstanding Leadership Award.

“Omorodion, a Geologist, has over the years proven himself as an outstanding and exceptional professional and leader in the petroleum geosciences. AAPG’s two highest awards are regarded as equal in stature and prestige. The Sidney Powers Memorial Award is given for outstanding contributions to petroleum geology and the Michel T. Halbouty Outstanding Leadership Award is given in recognition of outstanding and exceptional leadership in petroleum geosciences.

“Omorodion is the first African and one of the very few outside the United States to be so honoured. In addition to the Michael T. Halbouty Outstanding Leadership Award, Omorodion will also be receiving the AAPG Honourary Member Award,” the governor added.

Omorodion holds a Bachelor of Science degree in Applied Geology from the Federal University of Technology, Akure; Post graduate Diploma in Petroleum Engineering from University of Benin; Master of Science degree in Project Management from University of Aberdeen, Scotland; Certificate of Distinction in Leadership from INSEAD SLB-Private Business School; Completed the Converting Strategy to Action course from Stanford University and a Doctorate degree in Energy Management from the Walden University, USA.

He is also a Fellow and Past President of the Nigerian Association of Petroleum Explorationists and a past President of AAPG Africa Region. Served on the advisory council of both societies in the past and has held several committees and conference planning leadership positions for both societies.