With the vision of making Edo State a hub of exciting socio-cultural activity in Africa, as well as a determined commitment to give back to society and contribute to grassroots sports development in Edo State, the Eyoto Sports Academy in conjunction with the Edo State Athletics Association, invited all Edo State Secondary Schools to the 2023 Edition of the Eyoto Athletics Championship for Under 15 and 18 students.

The tournament held from Thursday, December 7 to Friday, December 8, 9:00 am – 5:00 pm daily, at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin City, the Edo State capital.

The Eyoto Athletics Championship kick-off date was included in an official statement signed by the President, Eyoto Sports Academy, Felix Idahosa, which was made available to The Nigerian Observer.

Eyoto Sports Academy is a unique sports experience as it brings to light the strength and beauty of the Edo people.

The Eyoto Executive Council procured T-shirts, Polo, and the tournament Cup for the winning School. The provision of 3 days of accommodation and feeding was made ready for athletes mobilized from Edo South, Edo Central and Edo North to participate in this year’s talents discovery contest.

Prizes were awarded to first, second, and third in ten events for boys, and ten for girls, as well as Special Olympics.

At the end of the competition, was the selection of the ten best athletes who received scholarships for N200,000 each, and the school with the most medals received the 2023 Eyoto Sports Academy’s Cup alongside a prize of N100,000. There were also medals presented to all the winners.

At the pre-competition conference with the coaches, games master, and Eyoto Sports Academy Executive Council members at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium Media Centre, the head coach, Mutiu Oluwa went over the expectations for the competition.

During the conference, Eyoto President, Felix Idahosa disclosed that over 160 student-athletes have arrived already from Edo North and Edo Central.

Related News

“This is a huge increase from last year. Those athletes have settled in their hotel for the evening. The event kicks off tomorrow at 9 am,” Felix said.

According to Eyoto President, “New soundtrack has been released today for this year’s competition, for Eyoto Sports Academy. Please listen and enjoy.”

“Please watch the live stream to follow what is happening at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium,” Felix added.

Likewise, in an interview session with the Eyoto Executive Council Members during the tournament at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium, Mr. Felix said the foundation was formed by four men of Edo Origin, who felt there was the need to help Edo children in various athleticism

“It was set up to identify young athletes and also to help in the development of these young athletes.

“Among the 10 best athletes that were selected in the last edition, two represented Nigeria at the Zambia games where they both won gold and silver,” Felix noted.

The 4th Eyoto Sports Academy Athletics Championship Final Results Score Sheet Revealed That Happy Yinusa Of Idia College Clinched The 100m U-15 Final – Girls 1st Position In 12.7 Secs Record Time While Ejemito Success Of Aosoro Grammar School Won The 100m U-15 Final – Boys 1st Position. For The 800m U-15 Final – Girls, Ayodele Christiana Was 1st Place And David Ekene Came 1st Place For The 800m U-15 Final – Boys Game; Eligbodu Holiness, 1st Position, 100m Elite Final – Boys In 11.30 Secs; Peter Nnenna Charity, 1st Position, 100m Elite Final – Girls; Ihogbe College 1st Position, 100m Deaf Boys – Final and Victory Odokara, 1st Position, 100m Deaf Girls – Final;

Other Winners Include Ebiyadi Becky, 1st postion, 400m Final – Girls; Sunday Victor, 1st Position, 400m Final – Boys; Asoro Grammar Sch., 1st Position, 4 X 400m Relay Final – Girls; Redeemers Academy, 1st Position, 4 X 400m Relay Final – Boys; Idia College, 1st Position, 4 X 100m Relay Final – Girls; The Lords Own Int’l Sch, 1st Position, 4 X 100m Relay Final – Boys; Ebiyadi Becky, 1st Position, 200m U-15 Final – Girls; Omekheyeke Success, 1st Position, 200m U-15 Final – Boys; Onovo Jeremiah, 1st Position, Long-Jump Final – Boys, Ebiyadi Becky, 1st Long-Jump Final – Girls; Ezekwere Chinyere, 1st Position, High-Jump Final – Girls; Olode Agbomeh, 1st Position, High-Jump Final – Boys; Osayanmwanbor Austin, 1st Position, Discus Boys Open – Final; Imasuen Favour, 1st Position, Discus Girls Open – Final.

While the 10 overall best athletes for scholarship are: Yinusa Happy, Esther Oyo, Becky Ebiyadi, Ayodele Christiana, Isaac Idahosa, Success Ejemito, Ediagbonya Destiny, Thaddeus Osarodion, Ebe Lucky And Ojomah Enelile James