The beauty of yesteryears, busted into uncontrollable outpouring of nostalgic memories, as ex-students of Baptist High School, Benin City, Edo State, Nigeria, Class of 1984 Set, held their 2024 Re-union party cum 40 years Anniversary.

The event which took place from January 19th to 21th, 2024 at Barracuda Beach Resort & Water Pack Limited, Epe, Lagos, with the theme ‘Beauty of Yesteryears’ was attended by about 36 classmates from Nigeria, and across the world.

Profound images transformed into sudden realities and old memories that cocooned within the walls of Baptist High School for more than 40 years turned magical and sparkled, as old classmates hugged each other endlessly and chatted animatedly.

Interestingly, the Barracuda Beach Resort is built facing the massive Ibeji -Lekki River, where Baptist High School ’84 classmates simply had endless fun; ate varieties of both continental and African dishes; drank assorted wines and danced to old school music which blasted from loud speakers nearby.

The high point of the 52 hours carnival like ceremony, was the Biennial General Meeting where the Executive Committee of the Baptist High School ’84 Association was dissolved following the programme of the day.

Interestingly, participants at the Biennial General Meeting unanimously nominated all members of the out-gone Executive Committee and returned them back to office for another two-year tenure, saying ” There is no need changing a winning team”.

Subsequently, the new executive members were sworn into office via administration of oath of allegiance which was moderated by the Association’s Legal Adviser, Barr. Irene Aigbe.

Below is the list of the newly elected Executive Members of the Association:

Etinosa Onaiwu: President (World wide)

Benson Uwadiae: Vice- President ( Nigeria)

Juliet Odibo Mann: Vice-President ( North America)

Henry Emodafe: Vice- President ( Europe)

Related News

Nowinta Igbotako: General Secretary

Godwin Okojie : Assistant General Secretary

Yaya Omosun : Public Relations Officer

Veronica Uzamere : Financial Secretary

Dorothy Osaro Odia; Treasurer

Michael Iyalekwhue; The Provost

Roseline E. Well-Agharese: Welfare Director

Raphael Aimufua: Assistant Welfare Director

Legal Adviser: Dr. Irene Aigbe

Speaking at the epochal ceremony, President of the Baptist High School Class 1984 Association, . Etinosa Onaiwu, thanked God profusely for the huge success of the 2024 Re- union activities, and appreciated fellow ex- classmates for moving out of their different comfort zones to make history with their presence.

The Baptist High School Class ’84 Association, which is a non-religious, non-political, non-ethnic and non-profit sharing body is a registered entity.

The aims of the association include “To foster co-operation between BHS ’84 Set and the college; to make suggestions and recommendations on matters affecting the college when necessary, to the ministry of education and other affiliated bodies; to provide financial assistance to needy members of BHS ’84, the college, as well as to the needy students by way of scholarships and/or via bursary awards”.