The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has displayed the list of candidates of the 17 political parties participating in the September 21 governorship election in Edo State.

The INEC office in Edo State, led by the Resident Electoral Commissioner (REC), Dr Anugbum Onuoha, displayed the list on its notice board and in all INEC offices across the 18 local government areas on Saturday.

The list shows that Mr Uwaifo Osaro is the governorship candidate of Action Alliance (AA); Ugiagbe Odaro Sylvester for All Peoples Movement (APM); Areleogbe Amos Osalumese for All Peoples Party (APP); Akhime Kingson Afere for Action Democratic Party (ADP); Udoh Obersifo David, African Action Congress (AAC); Akhalamhe Amiemenoghena, Zenith Labour Party (ZLP); Asuelimen Ighodalo, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP); Osirame Edeipo, Boot Party (BP), and Iyere Kennedy, Accord Party (AP).

Others are All Progressives Congress (APC), Okpebholo Monday; Social Democratic Party (SDP), Aner Abdullai Aliu; New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Azena Azemhe Friday; All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA), Osifo Isiah; African Democratic Congress (ADC), Obazele Paul Agbone; Labour Party (LP), Olumide Akpata Anthony; Peoples Redemption Party (PRP), Key Patience Ndidi, and Young Progressive Party (YPP), Okungbowa Paul Ovbokhan.

Related News

Meanwhile, the INEC headquarters said it would publish the personal particulars of all the governorship candidates and their deputies. This would be done by displaying copies of Form EC9 along with all academic credentials and other documents submitted by each candidate at the State Headquarters and the 18 local government offices across Edo State.

The commission, in a statement by its National Commissioner and Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Mr Sam Olumekun, charged Nigerians to scrutinise the documents.

‘”Any aspirant who participated in his/her party primaries with reasonable grounds to believe that the information provided by the candidate is false can challenge the nomination in a Federal High Court,” he said, adding that such legal action was in line with the Electoral Act 2022.