The Minister of Sports Development, Senator John Owan Enoh, will be the Chief Host of the Maiden Sports Ministry Yucateco Boxing Award in Lagos on Friday 19th April.

The Minister will be in Lagos with other top dignitaries from the Federal Ministry of Sports to honour Nigeria’s boxing Legends at the Award ceremony.

According to the Sports Ministry, the event is in line with the Minister’s vision of athletes’ recognition and appreciation.

The Chairman of the Day is the majority Leader of the 10th House of Representatives, Professor Julius Ihonvbere.

Related News

The Awardees for this year’s event include the President of Nigeria Boxing Federation Lt. Gen. Kenneth Minimah (Rtd), the late Hogan Bassy, the first Nigerian to win a world title, former national middleweight champion Isaac Ikhouria, Commonwealth Games gold medalists, Sabo Mohammed and current Nigeria National boxing coach Anthony Konyegwachie.

Others are 2011 All African Games bronze medalist Lawal Lukmon Olaiwola, Muyili Ojo, Nigerian boxing Umpire with the most appearances at international games, women boxing Pioneer Edith Agu Ogoke, former National boxing coach Joseph Mensah, Ogun state boxing pioneer Ajani Aremu, boxing umpire Abdullahi Masha, coach Samson Aransiola, and one of Nigeria’s most decorated boxing umpire Adesanya Olusegun Ayodele.

The Maiden Yucateco Sports Ministry Boxing Award is slated for 6 pm on Friday at JEVINIK Place, 21 Isaac John Street Ikeja GRA Lagos.