AZARE (BAUCHI)-  Senator Suleiman Nazif of All Progressive Congress (APC), has won the Bauchi North Senatorial District seat.
Declaring the result in Azare, headquarters of the District  yesterday the INEC Returning Officer for the Senatorial election in the Zone, Dr Muhammed Adamu  said that Nazif polled 197,919 votes, to beat his opponents, Alhaji Faruq Mustapha of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) and Okolo Jujiana of the NPPP, who scored 97,047 and 974  votes respectively.
In another development, Alhaji Ibrahim Muhammed-Baba of the All Progressive Congress (APC), has won the Katagum Federal Constituency House of Representatives election.
Returning Officer for the House of Representatives election in the constituency, Mohammed Mohammed, declared  yesterday in Azare that Muhammed-Baba polled 38,151 votes, to defeat his opponent, Alhaji Awalu Gwalabe of the Peoples’ Democratic Party (PDP), who scored 23,535 votes.
He described the election as the “most peaceful,  free, fair and orderly ever conducted in the country.”
The APC candidate for Bauchi Central Senatorial District, Malam Isa Hamma, has been declared winner of the just concluded senatorial election in the zone.
Declaring the result in Darazo yesterday the District Collation Officer, Dr Mohammed Salisu, said Hamma scored 208,741 votes to defeat Sen. Abdul Ningi of the PDP, who scored 57,172 votes and Mr Inuwa Nasaru of MPPP, who polled 1010 votes.
Salisu said 272,964 votes were cast, out of which 266,923 were valid and 6041 invalid.
The APC candidate for Darazo/Ganjuwa Federal Constituency, Malam Haliru Jika, also emerged winner for the constituency, garnering 78,243 votes, to defeat four other candidates.
Almustapha Hamma of PDP emerged the runner-up with 13,413 votes, Kashim Mohammed of SDP polled 328 votes, Umar Abubakar of PDM secured 42 votes, while Mrs Hadiza Haruna scored 16 votes.