ABUJA – President Goodluck Jonathan yesterday swore-in eight new ministers and two new federal commissioners a call on the ministers to be good team players towards ensuring good governance.
Jonathan told the new ministers in Abuja that much was expected of them in spite of the fact that they were joining the Federal Executive Council (FEC) late.
“For the ministers, this is injury time. It is like bringing in a player when you have just five minutes to go in a football match.
“So everybody would like to know what that player will do – the magic the player will perform within that short period.
“The player himself will be struggling to at least kick the ball before the end of the game.
“So, you are coming in at quiet a challenging period. I believe that a number of people will not envy you because government is coming to a close, but sometimes it is even good to come at this time because you are now well exposed to all Nigerians.
“Your dancing steps will be watched by everybody and we believe that you will dance well.“
The President enjoined the two new commissioners of the Federal Civil Service Commission (FCSC) to join the ongoing crusade against corruption and indiscipline in the civil service.
He said the call had become imperative because corruption had been identified as one of the major challenges facing the civil service across the three tiers of government.
One of the new ministers, Sen. Patricia Akwashiki from Nasarawa State, is to head the Ministry of Information as minister.
While Prof. Nicholas Adah (Benue), is to serve as Minister of State I, Foreign Affairs, Sen. Musliu Obanikoro (Lagos), will serve as Minister of State II, Foreign Affairs and retired Col. Augustine Akobundu (Abia) as Minister of State, Defence
Others are Mr Fidelis Nwankwo (Ebonyi), Minister of State, Health; Hajiya Hauwa Lawan (Jigawa), Minister of State Niger Delta Affairs; Mr Kenneth Kobani (Rivers), Minister of State Trade, Industry and Investment and Sen. Joel Ikenya (Taraba), Minister of Labour.
Dr Alhassan Khaliru is to serve as the new Minister of Health.
One of the new federal commissioners, Dr Jonah Madugu, representing Plateau/Benue/Nasarawa states, was sworn-in as a member of the FCSC, while Mrs Abimbola Tayo, from Lagos State, was sworn-in as member of the National Population Commission.