…as cases rise to 97.

The Edo State Government is stepping up the campaign to curb the spread of Lassa fever in the state, rallying the support and collaboration of all residents to contain the disease and protect citizens across all Edo communities.

Commissioner for Health, Prof. Obehi Akoria, while addressing journalists in Benin City, said the state has continued to witness a steady rise in the number of cases and death from the disease, urging residents to comply with all guidelines to contain the disease.

She noted that the state has now recorded 97 confirmed cases and nine deaths from 11 local government councils across the state, reassuring that the government is stepping up sensitization campaigns as well as surveillance and response activities, and taking other necessary steps to contain Lassa fever.

The commissioner said the affected local governments include Etsako West, Esan West, Esan North East, Esan Central, Esan South East, Etsako East, Owan East, Akoko Edo, Ovia North East, Oredo and Etsako Central.

Related News

Prof. Akoria urged all Edo residents to be aware and take responsibility to work with the Ministry of Health, observe preventive measures and report early symptoms suspected to be malaria or any other illnesses that present like malaria so as to complement the government’s efforts at containing the disease.

She further charged them to reach out to the disease surveillance or notification officers within their local government areas if they have been in contact with someone confirmed to have Lassa fever or suspect any symptoms of Lassa fever or any other priority disease.

The disease surveillance or notification officers’ contacts include: Akoko Edo 07034420077; Egor 08078750376; Esan Central 09074513116; Esan North East 08034897353; Esan South East 07035389297; Esan West 07016618702; Etsako Central 07035411607 and Etsako East 09026339245.

Others are Etsako West 08060443793; Igueben 08135041727; Ikpoba Okha 08074431217; Oredo 09052887778; Orhionmwon 07032436654; Ovia North East 08036859629; Ovia South West 08130989877; Owan East 07031295391; Owan East 08135649368, and Uhunmwode 08057861900.

The Commissioner noted that the State Disease Surveillance and Notification Officer can be reached on 08060593802, while the State Epidemiologist can be contacted on 08064258163.