The presidential candidates of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar, and Bola Ahmed Tinubu of All Progressives Congress (APC), as well as Peter Obi of Labour Party(LP), have been accredited and voted in their respective polling units. This is as the presidential and national assembly elections took off smoothly in many locations across the nation today.

A total of 87 million adult Nigerians have collected their Permanent Voter Cards (PVCs), a must-have for any electorate wishing to participate in the voting process.

Atiku Abubakar of PDP cast his vote at Polling Unit 012, Ajiya Ward, in the Yola North Local Government Area of Adamawa State. He expressed satisfaction at the manner the voting processes were handled in his polling unit, and said he was optimistic of victory.

Bola Tinubu arrived at his polling unit PU 085, Ward 3, Sunday Adigun, Alausa, Ikeja, Lagos State, earlier today. After casting his vote, Tinubu said he was sure of victory, assuring the nation that the much-awaited progressive time for Nigeria is on the horizon.

“I look forward to a progressive and transformative Nigeria. It has arrived. Democracy is here and here to stay,” Tinubu said.

Peter Obi, the presidential candidate of Labour Party cast his vote today at polling unit 019, Ward 2, Agulu, Anoacha Local Government Area of Anambra State.

Obi expressed optimism that come May 29, 2023, he will succeed the outgoing president, Muhammadu Buhari.

Kwankwaso votes in Kano, decries delay in voting

Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso, the presidential candidate of New Nigerian People’s Party (NNPP), cast his vote about 11am today at the Tandu Pooling Unit in Madobi Local Government Area in Kano State. It should be recalled that Kano State, north west Nigeria, is the second highest state in terms of PVCs collection in Nigeria, and highest among the 19 norther states.

“There was delay in voting. Voting started here by 11 am. Some parties are written on the ballot paper, not only that it’s not clear and I think these are some of the issues that will be addressed in the nearer future,” Kwankwaso said.

Buhari, Osinbajo, Obaseki,Okowa, Ortom vote

Related News

The outgoing president, Muhammadu Buhari has cast his vote in Daura, his home town in Katsina State. He was there in company of his wife to exercise his civic duty. After casting his vote, he showed his ballot paper to the crowd, enjoining the electorate to cast their votes for the candidate of their choice.

Also, the vice president of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, Professor Yemi Osinbajo, and his wife, Dolapo Osinbajo, have cast his votes in Ikenne, Ogun State. They voted at the Polling Unit 14, Egunrege, in Ikenne Local Government Area of the state.

According to NAN, the Independent National Electoral Commission’s (INEC) officials arrived at the polling unit as early as 7:15am.

Meanwhile, Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State has cast his vote. He voted at about 11:30am this morning at Emokpae Model Primary School, Oredo Polling Unit 19. Before leaving the venue, he enjoined all and sundry to eschew violence and be law abiding.

The vice-presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa has cast his vote. He described the purported video which was circulated a few days ago as an attempt by those who planned to rig the election, saying that their move had been thwarted.

Governor Samuel Ortom of Benue State has voted in Benue State. He flaunted his ballot paper after voting, visibly showing the choice of his presidential candidate.

Gbajabiamila votes in Lagos

Femi Gbajabiamila, the Speaker of the House of Representatives has cast his vote in Unit 14, Ward G2, Elizabeth Fowler Primary School, Masha-Surulere, Lagos State.

INEC cancels voting in 7 polling units in Kogi

Following the disruption of voting processes in Kogi East Senatorial axis, as a result of sporadic gunshots by political thugs, INEC has cancelled voting in seven polling units in that senatorial district. The units cancelled are in Anyigba, Dekina council area, while five units were in Omala Council Area of Kogi State.