Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the establishment of a presidential transition council to manage the 2023 transition from his government to the incoming government.

In that regard, the President has signed the Executive Order No. 14 of 2023 for the facilitation and management of the presidential transition programme.

The committee members are: Head of the Civil Service of the Federation; Solicitor-General of the Federation and Permanent Secretary, Federal Ministry of Justice; Permanent Secretaries from the Ministries of Defence, Interior, Finance, Budget and National Planning, Foreign Affairs, Information and Culture, Federal Capital Territory Administration, Special Duties and Intergovernmental Affairs.

Others are Cabinet Affairs Office, General Services Office, Economic and Political Affairs Office, Office of the Secretary to the Government of the Federation and State House.

The committee also has the National Security Adviser, Chief of Defence Staff; Inspector-General of Police; Director General, National Intelligence Agency; Director General, State Security Services; Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court of Nigeria and two representatives who will be nominated by the President-elect as members.

Related News

The committee will be inaugurated by the Secretary to the Government of the Federation on Tuesday, February 14.

The Executive Order No. 14 of 2023 that was approved by President Buhari is for the institutionalization of a legal framework that would enable a seamless transition of power from one presidential administration to another.

The information was contained in a statement that was issued by the Director of Information, Office of the Secretary General of the Federation, Willie Bassey.

The SGF, Boss Mustapha, was appointed by the president to lead the council.