Bola Ahmed Tinubu, the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) has won the 2023 presidential election in Nigeria.

He was declared as the president-elect in the early hours of Wednesday March 1, 2023 by Professor Mahmood Yakubu, the chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission(INEC), at the International Collation Centre in Abuja.

Tinubu, who was a former Lagos State governor, was declared the president-elect after he polled 8,794,726 votes to win the 2023 presidential election.

According to INEC, Tinubu also scored over 25 per cent of the votes cast in 30 states, more than the 25 states constitutionally required.

Tinubu defeated his closest challenger, Atiku Abubakar of the Peoples Democratic Party candidate who came second, and Peter Obi of the Labour Party, who came third.

Related News

Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso of the New Nigeria Peoples Party, came a distant fourth.

Atiku Abubakar polled a total of 6,984,520 votes, while Peter Obi of the Labour Party received a total of 6,101,533 votes. Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso of the NNPP came fourth with 1,496,687 votes.

Other candidates that aspired for the nation’s oval office include Dumebi Kachikwu of the African Democratic Congress; Kola Abiola, People’s Redemption Party; Omoyele Sowore, Africa Action Congress; Adewole Adebayo, Social Democratic Party; Malik Ado-Ibrahim, Young Progressive Party; Prof Christopher Imumulen, Accord Party; Prof Peter Umeadi, All Progressives Grand Alliance; and Yusuf Mamman Dan Talle, Allied Peoples Movement.

We also have Hamza Al-Mustapha, Action Alliance; Sani Yusuf, Action Democratic Party; Nnnadi Osita, Action Peoples Party; Oluwafemi Adenuga, Boot Party; Osakwe Felix Johnson, National Rescue Movement; and Nwanyanwu Daniel Daberechukwu, Zenith Labour Party.

Details later…