ABUJA – A cross-section of registered voters in the FCT, Abuja has commended the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) over the decentralisation of the Permanent Voters’ Cards (PVC) collection centres.
Some of the voters in separate interviews with newsmen in Abuja also expressed delight over the extension of the time of collection from 8.30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m. everyday.
A resident of Apo Resettlement Centre, Mr Razak Adekoya, who came to the Junior Science Secondary School, Area 10, Garki-Abuja collection centre, described the commission’s action as a welcome development.
Adekoya said the decision was very good and appreciated, saying, “It took me less than 10 minutes to collect my voter card.’’
He said the decentralisation should have been done before now.
Another resident of Central Area, Mr Peter Tefat, said that the nature of his job did not allow him to go to his centre in Karu, before the decentralization, to obtain his PVC.
“Before, I was told to go to Karu but I cannot go there during the working hours, due to the nature of my job except on weekends.
“Thank God, I now got my PVC without much stress,’’ Tefat told newsmen.
Miss Kudirat Adenike said the decentralisation of collection centres had made the exercise easy and less stressful.
“I say Kudos to INEC for the decision.’’ Adenike said.
Mr Friday Emeka, who was at the Wuse 1 Primary School, Zone 2 collection centre, said he had tried many times to collect his PVC to no avail until today.
“It is commendable that INEC has decentralised the collection centres, this will make it easier for people to collect their cards,” Emeka said.
He said that the development would afford more Nigerians, who would have been disenfranchised, the opportunity to collect their PVCs.
It will be recalled that INEC ordered the decentralisation of the distribution of PVCs to Ward levels, in order to enhance access for eligible voters, who were yet to collect their cards.
A statement signed by Mr Kayode Idowu, the Chief Press Secretary to the INEC Chairman, Prof. Atahiru Jega, said the commission resolved at its meeting on Jan. 8 that the period for the distribution of the cards should be extended from 8.30a.m to 5.30 p.m. daily.
“Registered voters who are yet to collect their cards can now do so from 8. 30 a.m. to 5.30 p.m., daily.
“Secretary to the Commission, Mrs Augusta Ogakwu, said Resident Electoral Commissioners have been mandated to set up effective monitoring strategies and ensure that the specified hours are strictly complied with by relevant INEC staff,’’ the statement further added.