…says committee to begin work immediately

The Federal Government of Nigeria through the Ministry of Transportation has inaugurated a six-man Project Steering Committee for the proposed Ondo Deep Sea and Benin River Ports, with a mandate to the committee to begin work immediately.

The inauguration was performed by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry of Transportation, Dr. Magdalene Ajani, according to a statement by the ministry’s Director of Press and Public Relations, Henshaw Ogubike.

The statement quoted Ajani as saying that the committee’s inauguration was in furtherance of the government’s efforts to further decongest the Western Ports as well as optimise the contributions of the maritime sector to the country’s economy.

The committee’s terms of reference are to provide guidance and direction on the projects and also facilitate necessary permits, clearance and approvals for the projects, the Permanent Secretary said.

She further noted that the committee would also prepare the transaction for the Minister of Transportation, Mu’azu Sambo, to obtain Federal Executive Council’s approval.

The statement named the Managing Director of the Nigerian Ports Authority, representatives of the Federal Ministries of Finance and Justice, National Inland Waterways, Nigerian Shippers’ Council, Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission, amongst others, as members of the Steering Committee.

“The Committee is to start work immediately,” it said.